Gunung Kawi: A Walk Through History

IMG_8232

It was noon already by the time I entered the premises of Pura Gunung Kawi, one of the most ancient architectural marvels of Bali. Excited to see a monument as old as 11th century, I asked the local vendors how far was the main temple complex. “More than 270 steps..” said one of them inviting me to buy a sarong. I had done some research before visiting the place and knew it was mandatory to be covered till toe to enter the temple. I was considering buying one when my friend gave me a call to inform me the temple authorities gave stoles without any extra charges.

Climbing down so many stairs in such a hot weather was quite a task and I was huffing when I reached the small stony gate that led to the main complex. As I entered the gate, right in front of me was river Pakerisan and to the left were first four candi or burial towers. The colossal memorial made me forget all the tiredness and I was immediately taken back in the era of Balinese Kings. Rock-cut candi standing more than 20 feet tall were evidence enough of the amount of work that must have gone into the construction. One could feel a strange sense of timelessness while walking through the premises. Here are some pictures from this famous temple and funerary of Ubud.

IMG_8118
On the way to the temple complex, one can find several vendors selling handmade items like coconut carvings and various kinds of masks.

IMG_8136

IMG_8152
Skull and bone carvings are a common site across all handicraft markets in Ubud and Gunung Kawi is no exception. Most of these pieces have an intricate level of detailing to them and hence the local vendors might tell you price as high as 3 Million Indonesian Rupiah.

IMG_8126.JPG

IMG_8133
On either side of the stairs, one can see the lush green rice fields that Ubud is famous for. This site is definitely a relief to the eyes while the tiring climb.
IMG_8154
A local woman making Ceper from palm leaf. Ceper is a part of Canang Sari, the Hindu prayer basket which is a common site in Balinese temples, houses and shops.
IMG_8159
The small gate that leads to the main complex.

IMG_8267

IMG_8266
Five of the ten rock-cut candi or shrines which are about seven meters high. These shrines are dedicated to King Anak Wungsu of Udayana dynasty.

IMG_8254

IMG_8260
Daily rituals.
IMG_8257
Canang Sari.

 

 

Leave a comment